
Traffic Ticket  Instructions 
 

Once you receive a ticket from a law enforcement agency and it is filed with the justice of the peace in 
Gregg County, Texas you need to enter a plea to the court: 
 
All pleadings of the defendant in justice court may be in writing.  If you are 16 years or younger, the law 
requires that you appear in court with a parent, guardian, or managing conservator.  A person 16 years of 
age or younger cannot pay the fine by mail or in person.  They must come to open court before the Justice 
of Peace when making their plea.  (Tex Code of Crim. Proc. Art 45.021) 

1. Guilty: A plea by which a defendant confesses to the crime with which the defendant is charged. 

If you wish to enter a plea of Guilty: mark it on the plea form provided. Refer to the fine schedule to 
determine the total amount of your fine. If your violation is not listed contact the court. Mail the 
ticket, plea form and money order or cashier’s check to the judge whose name appears on your 
ticket by the due date.  

2. Nolo contendere (no contest): A plea in criminal cases in which the defendant does not contest the 
charge against the defendant; nolo contendere has the same legal effect as a guilty plea. 

If you wish to enter a plea of No Contest: mark it on the plea form provided. Refer to the fine 
schedule to determine the total amount of your fine. If your violation is not listed contact the court. 
Mail the ticket, plea form and money order or cashier’s check to the judge whose name appears on 
your ticket by the due date.  

3. Deferred Disposition: A punishment alternative similar to probation whereby a guilty criminal defendant is 
required to live under certain conditions imposed by the court, and no final judgment is ever entered unless 
the deferred disposition is revoked. 

4. Drivers Safety Course:  If you choose the option of drivers safety or a motorcycle operator course to have 
your citation dismissed, the total amount due is $140.00, unless your violation was in a school zone in 
which case please contact the court.  

 
If you wish to attend a driving safety course or a motorcycle operator training course you will have 
to meet the following requirements: 

1. You must have a valid Texas driver's license.  
2. You have not taken a Drivers Safety Course for a ticket in the last 12 months and you are 

not currently taking the Driving Safety Course for a ticket filed in another court.    
3. You are not charged with speeding 95 miles per hour or more or speeding 25 miles per 

hour or more over the posted speed limit. 
4. You do not have a Texas commercial Driver’s License.                                                     
5. You must pay an administrative fee by money order or cashier’s check.  
6. You will furnish the court a current copy of your liability insurance coverage. 

Once you have met all the qualifications listed above you may enter a plea of no contest by 
completing the Affidavit and Request to Take A Driving Safety Course.  Mail affidavit and request 
for driving safety course form, money order or cashier’s check, and a copy of liability insurance 
coverage to the judge whose name appears on your ticket. This must be done on or before the 
due date of the ticket. Once the court has received all that is required you will have 90 days to 
complete the course and request a copy of your driving record TYPE 3A which may be obtained at 
www.texas.gov. You will need to furnish the court with proof of DSC completion certificate (court 
copy) and copy of your driving record TYPE 3A. 
 

5. Not guilty: A plea in which the defendant denies guilt. 
 

If you wish to enter a plea of Not Guilty and desire a trial, you must fill out the plea form and contact 
the court with the judge's name on the ticket by the due date on the ticket. 
 

FAILURE TO RESPOND TO EACH CHARGE ON YOUR TICKET WILL RESULT IN A WARRANT BEING 
ISSUED FOR YOUR ARREST ON EACH CHARGE. ALSO AN ADDITIONAL FEE OF 30% MAY BE ADDED 
FOR COLLECTION COSTS. 
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http://www.co.gregg.tx.us/government/justices_of_peace/forms_instructions/DSC_FORM.htm
http://www.texas.gov/

