## GREGG COUNTY DISTRICT CLERK 307<sup>TH</sup> DISTRICT COURT PRO SE DIVORCE INSTRUCTIONS

It is the policy of the District Clerk's office not to give legal advice or instructions. **Please do not ask the clerk or coordinator for any legal advice.** 

Representing yourself in a divorce case is called Pro Se. You are advised not to file your own divorce petition without a working knowledge of the Texas Family Code, the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure, and the Local Rules of this Court. The Local Rules of Court can be found on our website, <a href="www.co.gregg.tx.us">www.co.gregg.tx.us</a>. This Court advises you to seek the expertise of an attorney. If you cannot afford an attorney, you may contact Legal Aid, 903-758-9123, to see if you are eligible for legal services.

You are responsible for getting the case filed in the proper jurisdiction. You are responsible for obtaining proper service of citation or a waiver of citation on the respondent. If you file a waiver of citation, it must have been signed after the petition is filed. You are responsible for providing all the proper paperwork to complete your lawsuit.

If there are children of the marriage or wife is currently expecting, and neither party is represented by counsel, the Court may appoint an attorney to represent the children. This is because it is very difficult for non-attorneys to draft proper orders which will adequately protect the children. The starting cost is \$150.00. The final amount will depend on the number of hours of work required by the attorney. The party wishing to proceed will be responsible for paying this fee at the time of the hearing. You may be required to reschedule if your paperwork is not correct.

If you have children, **both parties are required** to take the For Kids Sake class prior to setting a final hearing in your divorce case. You can schedule an appointment by calling 903-753-7800.

There is a minimum waiting period of 61 calendar days from the date of filing before an uncontested divorce may be finalized. The finalization of a divorce is called a prove-up.

Once your 61 days have expired, it is your responsibility to call the court to schedule a proveup. Please call 903-237-2534. ON THE DAY OF YOUR APPOINTMENT, REPORT TO THE 307<sup>TH</sup> DISTRICT COURT ON THE 4<sup>TH</sup> FLOOR BY 8:45 A.M. ALL PAPERWORK MUST BE COMPLETED PRIOR TO YOUR ARRIVAL. IF YOUR PAPERWORK IS NOT COMPLETED, YOU WILL NEED TO RESCHEDULE YOUR HEARING FOR A LATER DATE.

You must be properly dressed. **NO SHORTS** are allowed in the courtroom.

On the day of your scheduled hearing, you must be prepared to present adequate testimony regarding your case to the judge.

It is your responsibility to prepare and bring **3 COPIES OF THE FINAL DECREE OF DIVORCE** for the Judge's signature. We do not provide this document.

It is your responsibility to prepare and fill out the "AUSTIN FORM" (INFORMATION ON SUIT AFFECTING THE FAMILY RELATIONSHIP) (Given to you by the clerk)

Reference Websites: www.texaslawhelp.org or www.tyla.org or www.TexasCourtHelp.org